The European turbulence conference gathers every two years the community of scientists involved in the study of turbulence, from fundamental physics issues to applied fluid mechanics – usually over 450 participants. Eight outstanding contributors are the central invited speakers, and 5 sessions are run in parallel.

The first ETC meeting took place in 1986 at the Ecole Centrale, in Lyon. For the 14th edition and 25th anniversary of this very successful event, the Euromech Committee has again selected Lyon.

Host: ENS de Lyon

Scientific Committee: Detlef Lohse [ETC Chair] (U. Twente), Eberhard Bodenschatz (MPI Göttingen), Carlo Casciola (La Sapienza, Roma), Stephan Fauve (ENS de Paris), Yury Kachanov (Novosibirsk), Dan Henningson (KTH Stockholm), Rich Kerswell (U. Bristol), Szymon P. Malinowski (U. Warsaw), Jean-François Pinton (CNRS - ENS de Lyon), Neil Sandham (U. Southampton).

Local Organization Committee: Jean-François Pinton (CNRS - ENS de Lyon), Mickael Bourgoin (CNRS - Université de Grenoble), Laurent Chevillard (ENS de Lyon), Fabien Godeferd (CNRS - EC Lyon), Nicolas Mordant (Université de Grenoble), Aurore Naso (CNRS - EC Lyon), Alain Pumir (CNRS - ENS de Lyon), Romain Volk (ENS de Lyon).

Important dates to come:

Opening of abstract submissions: October 2012 Deadline for abstract submissions: January 8th, 2013 Notification of acceptance: March 1st, 2013 Opening of registrations: March 15th, 2013 Deadline for early registration: May 31st, 2013

Scientific Committee

Detlef Lohse (ETC Chair)

University of Twente,
Enschede, The Netherlands

Eberhard Bodenschatz

Max-Planck-Institut für Dynamik und Selbstorganisation,
Göttingen, Germany

Carlo Casciola

Department of Mechanics and Aeronautics,
La Sapienza University of Rome, Italy.

Stephan Fauve

Ecole Normale Supérieure
Paris, France

Dan Henningson

Royal Institute of Technology,
Stockholm, Sweden

Yury Kachanov

Institute of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics,
Novosibirsk, Russia

Rich Kerswell

School of Mathematics,
University of Bristol
Bristol, United Kingdom

Szimon P. Malinowski

Institute of Geophysics,
University of Warsaw,
Warsaw, Poland

Jean-Francois Pinton

French National Centre for Scientific Research,
Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon,

Neil Sandham

School of Engineering Sciences,
University of Southampton, United Kingdom